Faculty of Engineering


Faculty Website


The Faculty of Engineering at UNSW comprises the Schools of Chemical Engineering, Civil and Environmental Engineering, Computer Science and Engineering, Electrical Engineering and Telecommunications, Mechanical and Manufacturing Engineering, Mining Engineering, Petroleum Engineering, Photovoltaic and Renewable Energy Engineering and the Graduate School of Biomedical Engineering. The Faculty has several research centres and is actively engaged with eleven Cooperative Research Centres (CRCs).

The Faculty of Engineering is dedicated to scholarship, teaching and research in technology and its application for the benefit of the community. The Schools of the Faculty offer undergraduate programs leading to the award of the Bachelor of Engineering (BE). There are also numerous dual programs leading to the award of the BE in combination with the BSc, BA , BCom and LLB degrees and the BE and Master of Biomedical Engineering.

Engineering education at UNSW is directed at producing true professionals who can tackle major problems and work in all countries of the world. Creative, managerial, communication and personal skills are developed alongside studies in mathematics, science and the technical disciplines.

Students are able to take part in major student-led projects and are strongly encouraged to play an active part in all that the University has to offer.

For further information on the programs of study offered by the Faculty, please refer to the relevant discipline entries in this online Handbook and to the Faculty website. We look forward to welcoming you to UNSW.

Related Schools

Electrical Engineering image

Study Levels

UNSW Quick Links