Faculty of Medicine


Faculty Website


The Faculty of Medicine at UNSW is one of Australia's largest and most prestigious medical faculties, with a long list of illustrious alumni. It has an innovative teaching program, with links to some of the nation's leading teaching hospitals. The Faculty has an admirable record in cutting edge medical research and it provides facilities that are world class.

The Faculty of Medicine was established in 1957 and has always been a leader in medical education. In 2004, the Faculty launched an entirely new medical education program leading to the degrees of Bachelor of Medicine and Bachelor of Surgery and designed to suit the needs of 21st century graduates.

The Faculty of Medicine consists of all members of the academic staff, both full time academics as well as conjoint and adjunct appointees from teaching hospitals, student representatives and other persons nominated by the Faculty. The Presiding Member is elected biennially from the professors and associate professors of the Faculty.

The Dean is the principal channel of communication between the Faculty and the University on administrative matters. The Dean and the Faculty are supported by a number of committees, some of which perform administrative tasks, while many assist in maintaining a constant review of the curriculum and the objectives of medical education.

The primary mission of the Faculty is the pursuit of excellence in medical and biomedical education within a scholarly environment of research and discovery.

For information on the programs of study offered by the Faculty, please refer to the relevant discipline and program entries in this Online Handbook and to the Faculty's website (www.med.unsw.edu.au)

We look forward to welcoming you to UNSW.

For Undergraduate Students

For Postgraduate Students

Clinical Schools

Related Schools

Medicine at UNSW

Study Levels

UNSW Quick Links