The University of New South Wales

go to UNSW home page

Handbook Home

A Message from the Dean

For Postgraduate Students


On behalf of the UNSW Law Faculty, I extend a warm welcome to you as postgraduate students. An internationally recognised Faculty, our postgraduate students come to us from many countries and from varied walks of life. They include legal practitioners seeking specialised coursework training, academics pursuing research degrees, and non-lawyers seeking legal and related qualifications complementary to their disciplines. Whatever your legal background or program of study, we are committed to research, teaching and scholarly excellence in the context of a commitment to the rule of law and social justice. We aim to ensure your highest satisfaction by extending your educational horizons in fulfilling our educational mission as a centre of both academic and professional excellence.

Postgraduate Coursework Programs
The UNSW Law Faculty offers seventeen postgraduate law coursework degrees:a Master of Laws, a Graduate Diploma in Law, a Master of Legal Studies, a Graduate Diploma in Legal Studies, a Master of International Law and International Relations, a Graduate Diploma in International Law and International Relations, a Master of Human Rights Law and Policy, a Graduate Diploma in Human Rights Law and Policy, a Master of Dispute Resolution, a Graduate Diploma in Dispute Resolution, a Graduate Diploma in Applied Intellectual Property, a Master of Criminal Justice and Criminology, a Graduate Diploma in Criminal Justice & Criminology, a Master of Business Law and a Graduate Diploma in Business Law, a Master of Law and Management, supported by the Australian Graduate School of Management (AGSM), and a Master of Business Administration/Master of Laws, a combined program with the AGSM, the premier management school in Australia.

The postgraduate coursework curriculum provides a legal education in discrete areas of specialisation including: Corporate and Commercial Law; Corporate, Commercial and Taxation Law; Criminal Justice and Criminology; Dispute Resolution; Environmental Law; Human Rights and Social Justice; Innovation Law; International Law; International Business and Economic Law; Media and Technology Law and Taxation .

Postgraduate coursework at the UNSW Law Faculty has the specific goal of strengthening the professional knowledge and skills of lawyers and related professionals. As a result, coursework programs often are oriented around the specialised areas of law identified above, and each course contains a significant research component.

Consistent with the career enhancing goals of postgraduate coursework students, LLM and GradDipLaw graduates who have completed a minimum of 24 units of credit from one of the specialisations may elect to have their specialisation noted on their testamur.

Research Degrees
The UNSW Law Faculty also offers three research degrees under the supervision of leading scholars: the Doctor of Philosophy (Law), the Doctor of Juridical Science and the Master of Laws (Research).

The Faculty has particular research strengths in Constitutional and Administrative Law, Corporate and Commercial Law, Criminal Justice and Criminology, European Law and International Law, Indigenous Law and Human Rights, Information Technology Law, Intellectual Property, Media and Communications Law, Law and Social Theory and Procedure and Evidence.

The Faculty seeks to provide postgraduate research students with an intellectual atmosphere conducive to research. While research students have primary contact with their supervisors, UNSW also provides a collegial setting where research students can exchange ideas with one another and the Faculty at large. The Faculty also provides research students with a reflective atmosphere in which to develop their ideas. The new Law Building provides state of the art, dedicated facilities for research students.

Specialised Research Centres
Both postgraduate coursework and research students have the opportunity to be involved in the work of UNSW's wideranging specialist research centres. These centres include: the Australian Human Rights Centre (AHRC); the Indigenous Law Centre (ILC); the Australasian Legal Information Institute (AustLII); the Cyberspace Law and Policy Centre (CLPC); the Centre for Interdisciplinary Studies in Law; the Gilbert + Tobin Centre of Public Law (G&T); as well as with three community service centres based in the Faculty: the National Pro Bono Resource Centre (NPBRC); the Diplomacy Training Program and the National Children and Youth Law Centre (NCYLC).

I wish you every success in your postgraduate studies at the UNSW Law Faculty.

Professor David Dixon PhD
Faculty of Law

Postgraduate Information

URL for this page:

© The University of New South Wales (CRICOS Provider No.: 00098G), 2004-2011. The information contained in this Handbook is indicative only. While every effort is made to keep this information up-to-date, the University reserves the right to discontinue or vary arrangements, programs and courses at any time without notice and at its discretion. While the University will try to avoid or minimise any inconvenience, changes may also be made to programs, courses and staff after enrolment. The University may also set limits on the number of students in a course.